RACK’ed Project

Okay, so it has been quite some time since my last post. I apologize.

I have no excuse. So, there it is (=

Anyways!

I wanted to share with you the newest Christmas project that my family will start doing this year, & will continue to do so each Holiday season.

I got this idea from Tracie over at her blog TSJ Photography. She posted this idea in 2010. THREE YEARS AGO!!! & still, it is an amazing post that, I’m sure, is inspiring many others to add it to their holiday traditions. I know it has for me.

So, pretty much, what this does is help encourage, and teach, our kids that it is far better to give than to receive… &, something that I will add, that you shouldn’t help out or do something nice for someone only if you get something out of it or when it’s convenient for you. You should ALWAYS be generous, courteous, kind, & helpful.

It’s called the Random Acts of Christmas Kindness, or RACK’ed, & we call it the RACK’ed Project.

This year we’re on a pretty strict budget, but I was able to get $30 for this project, which will be perfect since I am only doing the 12 days of Christmas (I’m hoping to be able to do 25 days next year, but we’ll see)!

You can do more or less, depending on your preference/budget, & just make it fit your daily lifestyle!

So, I wanted the last day to be Christmas day, so I waited until today, the 14th, to begin the 12 days, while others started yesterday. Therefore, today kicks off our 12 days of Christmas activities!

~*~*~*~*~

For the RACK’ed Project, this is our plan for the next 12 days:

Day 1: Tape a quarter to 4 separate toy machines

Day 2: Leave $1 in 5 separate dollar toy bins (at Target, Walmart, or wherever we end up shopping that day)

Day 3: Leave a cupcake/cookies in the mailbox for our mailman

Day 4: Leave a jar of 100 pennies at a wishing fountain with a note of Christmas wishes

Day 5: Give $5 grocery gift card to next person in line at checkout

Day 6: Give out pre-stamped “thank you” cards to strangers

Day 7: Tape candy canes to ATM machines

Day 8: Give $5 movie gift card to next person in line at theatre

Day 9: Leave a fancy new pen for server at a restaurant with a note of Christmas cheer

Day 10: Watch for random act of kindness & give them $5 gift card

Day 11: Send Christmas treats to work

Day 12: Leave $5 gift card on random car windshield

~*~*~*~*~

& that’s what we have in store. I am going to be taking as many pictures as I can of my daughter helping me out with each of these activities & will be posting them either everyday or once I get them all together, most likely the latter.

I hope you are able to help share the Christmas cheer this holiday season, too, in your own special way.

Are you going to be doing the RACK’ed Project this year?

Leave me a comment! I’d love to hear the ways you guys spread the spirit!

8 thoughts on “RACK’ed Project

  1. After I initially commented I seem to have clicked the -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox and from now on each time a comment is added I receive four emails with the same comment.
    There has to be an easy method you are able to remove me from that service?
    Appreciate it!

    • I’m so sorry about that. I actually do not know how to remove you from that service. Perhaps in the emails it sends, it will have an “unsubscribe” option at the bottom of the email. I hope that works or you have found the solution already. Again, I apologize for the inconvenience!

Leave a Reply

